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Setting up the game – First Player 
Who is the first player? 
If you refer to the Rulebook, the player whose arena is immediately to the left 
[clockwise] of the Emperor is the first player. However, you may play with the 
following variants from the authors:  
- The player whose arena is on the “3/4/5” mark of the board is the first player. The 
arena is next to the 40 space of the scoring track. 
- The player immediately to the left of the player whose arena is clockwise nearest of 
the Emperor is the first player. 
 
Phase 1 – Investing 
By playing 2 Emperor Medals, a player can make a second investment during 
the investment phase. Is it possible to play 4 Emperor Medals in order to make 
a third investment? 
Yes, you can play as many Emperor Medals as you want.   
 
Phase 1 – Investing – Emperor’s Loge, Season Tickets 
Is it possible to buy an Emperor’s Loge and/or Season Tickets in a small arena 
with only two parts (starting arena)? 
In each arena, you can buy only one Emperor’s Loge but as many Season Tickets 
as you want. The size of the arena (its level) has no importance. 
 
Phase 1 – Investing – Expanding your arena 
Is it possible to expand an arena on a resting area? 
Yes, this is allowed. 
 
Phase 1 – Investing – Expanding your arena 
Is it possible to expand an arena which has already been improved (Emperor’s 
Loge, Season Tickets, Podiums)?  
Yes, this is allowed. You just have to move the different items onto the expanded 
arena.  
 
Phase 1 – Investing – Buying a new Event Program 
Is it possible to buy several Event Programs per turn?  
No, you can only buy one Event Program per turn, unless you play two Emperor 
Medals or one “Additional Action” token.  
 
 



 
 
Phase 1 – Investing – Buying a new Event Program 
There are two stacks of new programs.  
If a player wants to buy a new program, must he buy the first one, at the top of 
the stack, or may he choose any program in the stack? May he look for a 
program in the two stacks, or does he have to wait until all the small programs 
are sold out? 
You may choose your program in either of the two stacks.  
 

Phase 1 – Investing – Buying a new Event Program 
When a player decides to buy a program, he must choose a program with a 
higher number than the previously produced one. Does this refer only to his 
last performance or to all the previously produced performances?  
The rules say that the new program must have a higher number than the previous 
one you have produced.  
As this rule has very little influence on the game, you should ignore it. A player who 
decides to buy a new program may choose any one of them, regardless of its 
number.    
 

Phase 2 – Acquiring Event Assets Tokens  
Rules say that a player may only buy 3 Event Asset Tokens (a batch on the 
market) per turn. Does it mean that a player can only buy 15 Event Asset 
Tokens in the whole game? 
Yes, that is correct. When a player wins an auction, he can no longer participate in 
subsequent bidding rounds this turn.  
However, there is a variant with more competition, which makes it possible to buy 
many more Event Asset Tokens. This variant changes the auctions as follows: 
 
Every turn, each player may initiate a bid. This player is called the “active player”. If 
the active player does not win the bidding round that he has initiated, he may initiate 
another auction until he wins a batch of three Event Asset Tokens or until he decides 
to pass. If a player wins the bidding round initiated by the active player, this player 
can no longer participate in the other bidding rounds of the active player. However, 
he will be allowed to participate in the bidding rounds of subsequent active players. 
Here is an example with 3 players (A, B and C.)     
 
A is the active player and initiates the first auction. B wins the auction. 
A initiates a second auction. As B won the previous one, he is not allowed to 
participate. C wins the auction. 
A initiates then a third auction (neither B nor C are allowed to participate). As A is 
alone, he pays 8 coins and takes his 3 Event Asset Tokens. 
A has now finished his turn. 
The three empty markets are now refilled and B becomes the active player. He 
initiates a new auction, in which every player can participate.  
A wins the first auction of B. Then, B decides to pass.  
The empty market is now refilled and C becomes the active player. He may inititate 
his first auction. 
 
 



 
The following table shows the differences between the original and the variant: 
 
 Original 

(max. 15 Tokens per game) 
Variant 
(more competition)  

Game length faster longer 
Rich player – poor 
player 

Players can only buy 15 Event 
Asset Tokens in the game, 
whether they are rich or not. 

It is easier for richer players to 
buy more Event Asset 
Tokens.   

Competition, interaction Little More  
How to gather all the 
elements for the last 
performance 

It is more difficult to gather all 
the elements for the last 
performance. 

It is easier to gather all the 
elements for the last 
performance 

Public Better for the family Better for experienced players 
Asset donation The first player is often 

hampered by the loss of one of 
his Event Asset Tokens. 

The first player can often 
make up for the loss of one of 
his Event Asset Tokens.   

Number of Tokens that 
the players can obtain 

Players cannot buy a lot of 
Tokens and most of them stay 
in the bag.  

Players obtain many more 
Tokens and have more 
possibilities.  

Star Performer Awards The Star Performer Awards 
rarely move from one player to 
another. 

The Star Performer Awards 
often move from one player to 
another. 

3 player game Not that interesting Even with only three players, 
there is a fierce competition! 

Buy for 8 coins Frequent Rather rare 
Event Programs Players do not have a wide 

range of choice among the 
programs they want to 
produce. 

Players have a wide range of 
choice among the programs 
they want to produce.   

Money There is too much money, 
which becomes superfluous. 

Money is more important than 
in the original version. 

 
 
Phase 2 – Acquiring Event Asset Tokens  
If a player does not have enough money for a bidding round, is he allowed to 
participate if he has enough Emperor medals worth 6 coins each? When does 
he have to play these medals? As soon as the higher bid exceeds his total 
amount of coins, or only if he wins the bidding round?   
A player is allowed to participate in a bidding round as long as the total amount of his 
coins and of his medals allows him to make higher bids. The medals are discarded 
along with the money only if he wins the bidding round. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
Phase 3 – Trading Event Asset Tokens  
During his trading turn, if a player obtains an Event Asset Token from another 
player, is he allowed to give it back to this player or to another one? 
No, this is not allowed. He may not use this Event Asset Token again during his 
trading turn. However, he will be allowed to trade with this Token during the trading 
turns of the other players.  
 
As a consequence, the following action is not allowed: 
A has 4 Gladiators. 
B has also 4 Gladiators, plus the Gladiator Star Performer Award. 
C has one Gladiator. 
A obtains the Gladiator from C. As a result, he also obtains the Gladiator Star 
Performer Award from B. Then, A gives back C his Gladiator … but keeps the Star 
Performer Award!     
 

Phase 4 – Producing an Event – Moving Senators, Consuls and the Emperor 
How many Nobles can move? Only one, or all of them ?  
A player that rolls one die may move one Noble of his choice. 
If a player has an Emperor’s Loge in his arena, he may roll two dice and move one 
Noble of his choice using the sum of both dice, or two Nobles of his choice, one for 
each die rolled.   
 

Phase 4 – Producing an Event – Moving Senators, Consuls and the Emperor 
Is it possible to move one Noble several times in the same step? 
Yes. A player may move a Noble with the dice, and then with one or several Emperor 
Medals. 
 
Phase 4 – Producing an Event – Moving Senators, Consuls and the Emperor 
Is it possible to move several Nobles in the same step? 
Yes. A player can move a Noble with the dice, and then other Nobles with one or 
several Emperor Medals. For each Noble activated this way, at least one Emperor 
Medal must be played. A player who rolls two dice may move one Noble of his choice 
using the sum of both dice or two Nobles of his choice, one for each die rolled.   
 
Phase 4 – Producing an Event – Producing your Event 
Does a player earn money if his scoring marker does not move forward, which 
happens when his performance does not bring as many spectators as it did 
during the previous turn? 
 Yes. Each player earns as many coins as spectators in his arena for this turn, 
regardless if there are more or less spectators than during the previous turn. 
 
Phase 4 – Producing an Event – Producing your Event 
When a player produces an event, is he allowed to not use all the Event Asset 
Tokens in his possession in order to avoid the first position on the scoring 
track, or to obtain the last position?  
No. A performance has to be produced with as many Event Asset Tokens as 
possible.    
 
 



Phase 5 – Closing ceremonies – Event Clean-Up 
At the end of every turn, each player must discard one of the Event Asset 
Tokens used in their latest event. Where does the Token go? Do we have to put 
it back in the bag or remove it from the game? If removed from the game, do 
we have to place the Tokens face up, so that the players can see them (and 
have an idea of the number of Tokens of the same type are still in the bag) or 
do we have to lay these Tokens face down?  
The discarded tokens have to be removed from the game. However, they have to be 
placed next to the board, face up, so that each player may have an idea of the 
number of tokens of the same type still in the bag.  
 
Phase 5 – Closing ceremonies – Event Clean-Up 
If a player did not produce an event this turn, does he have to discard one of 
his tokens?  
No, in this case, he does not have to discard one of his token. 
However, it is absurd not to produce an event in a turn.  
 
Additional game information – Previous Events 
A player has already produced two events (those programs have already been 
turned over) and produces a third one. If in his next turn, for some reason, he 
decides to produce one of his previous events, does he have to turn over his 
third program, and does it count for 5 additional spectators?  
Yes, the third program has to be turned over and gives 5 more spectators. However, 
the program that he wants to produce this turn must also be turned over (face up) 
and no longer counts for 5 additional spectators.   
 
Additional game information – Event Assets – Jokers 
When the “Joker„ token is used in a performance, is it discarded? Is it possible 
to keep it and re-use it in other performances? 
The “Joker“ token must not be discarded after a performance. When a player 
produces an event, he just has to say what the Joker represents.  
 
Additional game information – Event Assets – Additional Actions 
Is it possible to use the “Additional Action„ Token for each investment phase, 
or just one time? 
The “Additional Action„ token can be used only one time. Then it is discarded.  
 
Additional game information – Event Assets – Emperor Medals 
Which actions can be done several times thanks to an Emperor Medal? Can 
these actions be different from one Medal to another?  
An Emperor Medal allows a player to do only one additional action. If a player has 
several Emperor Medals, he can do as many additional actions as Emperor Medals. 
These actions can be different from one Medal to another. 
 
Examples: 
• A player discards three Emperor Medals during the investment phase. He 
exchanges the first one for 6 coins and uses the other two  to make one additional 
investment. 



• After the Nobles have moved, a player decides to discard two Emperor Medals and 
moves one Noble 6 squares forward to bring him into his arena. Doing that, he will 
have more spectators for his event. 
• After the Nobles have moved, a player discards one Emperor Medal to move one 
Noble 3 squares forward to bring him in his arena. Then, he discards another 
Emperor Medal and moves another Noble backward to bring him into his arena, also. 
• After having produced his last event during the last turn, a player decides to play 
4 Medals to attract 12 more spectators.  
 

Additional game information – Event Assets – Emperor Medals 
Is a player allowed to discard an Emperor Medal that he has just obtained in 
order to again move a Noble that he has just moved?  
Yes. 
 
Additional game information – Event Assets – Emperor Medals 
If a player uses an Emperor Medal to move a Noble onto a resting area, does he 
obtain an Emperor Medal? 
No. A player earns an Emperor Medal only if he rolled the dice to bring the Noble in a 
resting area.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wolfgang Kramer & Markus Lübke  
Translation by Antoine “Tiberias” Prono 

Reviewed by Brian “Coltsfan76” Mola 


